Recent Postings

1.       The ASA Annual Meeting begins this weekend in Chicago. WVSSA will again have a reception on Saturday evening at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, 7-9:30pm. All WVSSA members are invited to attend.

 Maryann Cater, DO, a WVSSA member from Wheeling, is now serving as President of the WV State Medical Association. Find her picture on the current issue of the WV Journal. She has started attending and speaking at county medical associations around the state. Last week she spoke at the Mon County Medical Association meeting, addressing drug abuse, obesity, and tort reform.

3.       The WV Bureau for Public Health is offering the national Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC)’s Ambulatory Surgery Center Infection Prevention course free of charge at Charleston Civic Center, Charleston, WV, on October 27 and 28. All involved with ambulatory surgery are invited to attend. For more information contact Thein Shwe, MPH, MS, MBBS, HAI (Healthcare Associated Infection) Coordinator, WV Bureau for Public Health, at

4.       The ASA Park Ridge office will take over dues billing and collecting for the WVSSA for 2012. Members should find this more convenient, e.g. they can pay dues by credit card when paying ASA dues, and the WVSSA may see an increase in membership. Look for the first dues notice before the end of the year to allow members the ability to pay their dues in either 2011 or 2012 tax years.

5.       Thanks to the 72 WVSSA members who contributed to the ASA PAC during 2011. This is a record number for us. And we already have several contributors for the 2012 PAC year that started this month. Find a list of the contributors on the ASA website under ASAPAC.

6.       Find the WVSSA website at

7.     2012 WVSSA officers and their e-address:

President/Delegate          Brian Grose, MD –
President-Elect                  Michael Panger, MD –
Secretary-Treasurer        Robert Johnstone, MD –
Director                                Alex Skaff, MD –
Alt Dir/Delegate                David Graf, MD –
Alt Delegate                        Donna Slayton, MD –
Alt Delegate                        Russell Stewart, MD –


Robert Johnstone, MD
WVSSA Secretary

Leave a Reply