Recent Postings


  1. The Anesthesiology Department at West Virginia University recently celebrated its 50th anniversary at a luncheon attended by department members, as well as institutional and community leaders.
  2. Front Row (L to R):  Chancellor for WVU Health Sciences Dr. Chris Colenda, WV Delegate Amanda Pasdon, WVU Professor Emeritus Dr. Richard Eller, WV Delegate Charlene Marshall, WV Delegate Tony Barill

    Second Row (L to R):  Morgantown City Councilman John Gaddis, WVU Healthcare Interim CMO Dr. Judie Charlton, Morgantown City Manager Terrence Moore, Assistant Dean for Technology in Medical Education Dr. David Wilks, Vice Chair of Anesthesiology Dr. Brian Grose, Vice President of the American Society of Anesthesiologists Dr. Robert Johnstone, Chair of Anesthesiology Dr. Richard Driver, Dean WVU School of Medicine Dr. Arthur Ross


    Richard Driver, MD, Department Chair, read several letters of congratulations, including ones from Mark Warner, MD, President, American Society of Anesthesiologists, and David McKinley, Member, United States House of Representatives, 1st Congressional District.


    Robert Johnstone, MD, former department chair, speaking at the event noted:

    The 50th anniversary of the WVU residency is worth celebrating. WVU is where the hardest-to-do surgeries are done. WVU is the primary source for anesthesiologists in West Virginia, with 49 percent of the graduates electing to practice in the state. During the 50 years of the WVU Anesthesiology Residency Program approximately 665,000 patient anesthetics have been administered, and more than 200 anesthesiologists have completed their training.

    Some outstanding and noteworthy achievements include:

    *7 WVU anesthesiologists have become department chairs at other universities

    *In 1975 the department organized a Pain Management Clinic, one of the first in the specialty

    *The department initiated annual state meetings for anesthesiologists during the 70’s, which grew into the West Virginia State Society of Anesthesiologists, now with nearly 200 members

    *The first 5 North American Drager anesthesia machines for use with human patients in the US were installed at WVU. Drager became the dominant machine in the US.

    *In 1994 one of the first electronic anesthesia record-keepers in the US was installed at WVU

    *In 1996 the department started simulation training. Our pediatric simulator has serial number 16. There are now hundreds.

    *In 1998 the department started an Annual Clinical Skills Teaching Day for 2nd year medical students, in which every member of the faculty participates. More than a 1000 physicians stuck their first vein stick in this program, on each other, something they always remember.

    The department has a rich history of scientific investigations, research grants, educational innovations, and high-achieving graduates. Patients receiving anesthetics at WVU have included governors, senators, military heroes, entertainers, and sports stars.

  3. The Annual WVSSA Education and Business meetings will be August 27 and 28 in White Sulfur springs, WV, at The Greenbrier. The meetings are free for all WVSSA members. The educational program is very good, approved for 3 hours of CME, and is timed so that members can attend the noon inauguration of Mary Ann Cater, DO as President of the WV State Medical Association. Dr Cater is an anesthesiologist practicing in Wheeling.

    Saturday, August 27, 2011

    The Greenbrier

    In conjunction with the WV State Medical Association


    8:30-9:00am    Evidence-based Anesthesia for Total Hip and Knee Replacement
    David Hardman, MD

    9:00-9:30         Postoperative Pain Therapy

    John Rowlingson, MD

    9:30-9:50         Maternal Fever and Labor Epidural Analgesia

    Fikry Attaallah, MD

    9:50-10:00                   Coffee break

    10:00-10:30     Fire Safety

    Robert Johnstone, MD

    10:30-11:00     Opioid-Sparing Strategies: Are they Effective?

    David Hardman, MD, MBA

    11:00-11:30     Local Anesthetic Toxicity

    John Rowlingson, MD

    11:30-11:45     Panel Discussion



    Fikry Attaallah, MD

    Assistanr Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, West Virginia University

    David Hardman, MD, MBA

    Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of North

    Carolina at Chapel Hill

    Robert Johnstone, MD

    Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, West Virginia University

    John Rowlingson, MD

    Professor of Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology, University of



  5. WVSSA leaders have worked out an arrangement with the ASA for combined WVSSA/ASA dues notices and collections next year. Staff at the ASA Park Ridge office will do this work for a small fee. Advantages for us are one payment for both annual dues, and the ability to pay by credit card. WVSSA has been too small to set up credit card payments, something several members have requested. Members will review this arrangement and vote on its approval at the annual business meeting in August. It would start for the 2012 dues.

  7. Thanks to our 35 members who have contributed to the ASA Political Action Committee this year. The ASAPAC is the one organization dedicated to electing legislators who understand anesthesiology issues. Find information about the PAC and how to contribute at,

    Allen Dennis W. M.D.






    Ball Philippe G. M.D.
    Bowling Michael J. D.O.
    Broadman Lynn M. M.D.
    Cornett Edgar S. M.D.
    Costello Kevin F. M.D.
    Crislip Seth M. M.D.
    Daia Euripedes A. M.D.
    Deskins Amanda L. D.O.
    Domaoal Antonio M. M.D.
    Douglass Thomas R. M.D.
    Driver Richard P. M.D.
    Ellison Matthew B. M.D.
    Graf David M.D.
    Green Adam W. M.D.
    Grose Brian W. M.D.
    Hensley Jeremy L. M.D.
    Johnstone Robert E. M.D.
    Kohli Arpan M.D.
    Lo Yuan-Feng C. M.D.
    Olness Erik J. M.D.
    Parks Lance J. D.O.
    Persily Eric M. M.D.
    Rodgers Drew E. M.D.
    Rosen David A. M.D.
    Shaffer Elizabeth G. M.D.
    Sizemore Daniel C. M.D.
    Skaff Paul A. M.D.
    Snider Allan Jeffrey M.D.
    Unger Merv W.T. M.D.
    Walker Jeremie A M.D.
    Watkins Matthew J. D.O.
    Wilson Colin A. M.D.

  9. WVU has five residents, all with WV connections, finishing their anesthesiology training this year. For the first time all have decided to join the faculty at WVU. They will replace several faculty members who have joined other institutions or are moving to private practice.
  10. Drs Lance Parks, Chris Payne, Colin Wilson, Chad Sizemore, Eric Olness


  11. Our members are interested in news about practices around the state. If you have something for a newsletter send it to the WVSSA Secretary.

2011 WVSSA officers and their e-address:

President/Alt Delegate       Stuart Cornett, MD –

President-Elect/Delegate   Brian Grose, MD –

Secretary-Treasurer           Robert Johnstone, MD –

Director                             Alex Skaff, MD –

Alt Dir/Delegate                David Graf, MD –

Alt Delegate                      Russell Stewart, MD –



Robert Johnstone, MD

WVSSA Secretary


Leave a Reply