Recent Postings

1. Congratulations to Ken Nanners, MD, a WVSSA member from Wheeling. He is the newest member of the WV Board of Medicine, appointed by Governor Manchin before he moved to the US Senate. Dr. Nanners service on the WVBOM helps all anesthesiologists, and gives us another entry into political and regulatory issues.

2. The WVSSA recently contributed $200 to the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and to the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research on behalf of its members. WVSSA has made annual contributions for more than a decade to these two worthy anesthesia organizations.

3. The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services has announced the Medicare Conversion Factors for 2011. For West Virginia it is $21.33, down from $21.90 for 2010, and above the national average of $21.05. Find all the regional conversion factors on the ASA website at, The conversion factors would have been even lower if Congress had not prevented the SGR correction for 2011, and the practice expense adjustment not factored in over four years.

Medicare determines anesthesia payment amounts via a Base + Time methodology where the base unit value assigned to each reported anesthesia code is added to the time units.  For Medicare, report actual time on the claim and CMS will calculate the number of units out to one decimal place using a 15 minute unit.  Geographic adjustments are made to the conversion factor – not to the base units.

4. The 2011 ASA Legislative conference will be held May 2-4 in Washington DC, at the JW Marriott, just two blocks from the White House. Find information about the meeting agenda, as it becomes available, on the ASA website at, We would again like 6-10 WV anesthesiologists and two residents to attend, representing all three WV congressional districts and the diversity of our membership. For active members who attend the Tuesday educational sessions and participate in the congressional visits the WVSSA will pay the registration fee, a stipend of $250, and one group dinner. The group dinner is on the Tuesday evening of the conference and usually held with the Arizona delegation and invited friends. If you would like to attend the ASA Legislative Conference please let Dr Johnstone, WVSSA Sect-Treas know.

5. Congratulations to the WVU anesthesiology residents. All 16 CA1-3 residents have contributed to the ASA Political Action Committee. Participation in ASAPAC advances the interests of anesthesiologists and patient safety. The mission statement of ASAPAC is: “To advance the goals of the medical specialty of anesthesiology through the bipartisan support of candidates who demonstrate their commitment to patient safety and quality of care.” ASAPAC provides political support for ASA’s advocacy efforts and allows our members to participate in the political process. Chad Sizemore, MD, chief resident, explained to his fellow residents how important advocacy is to the future of anesthesiologists. Hopefully the enthusiasm of the WVU residents will motivate active member anesthesiologists. Find information about ASAPAC on the ASA website at, We would like all WVSSA members to contribute to ASAPAC.

WVU anesthesiology residents

WVU anesthesiology residents with Brian Grose, MD and Richard Driver, MD, department vice-chair and chair.

6. WVSSA annual dues of $220 are now due. They are arriving at a good rate. If you have not yet sent your payment, please do so now.

2011 WVSSA officers

President                              Stuart Cornett, MD –

President-Elect                    Brian Grose, MD –

Secretary-Treasurer           Robert Johnstone, MD –

Director                                Alex Skaff, MD –

Alt Director                          David Graf, MD –

ASA Delegate                       Brian Grose, MD –

ASA Delegate                       David Graf, MD –

Alt Delegate                         Russell Stewart, MD –

Alt Delegate                         Stuart Cornett, MD –

DUES: $220

Make check payable to: WVSSA

Mail to: Robert E. Johnstone, MD – Secretary, WVSSA

Department of Anesthesiology
PO Box 8255
Morgantown, WV 26506-8255

Leave a Reply